Take care of yourself now.
Take care of REAL ID later.

Due to COVID-19, the federal government extended the deadline for the new ID law to October 1, 2021. When the REAL ID Act goes into effect next year, Washington residents will need more than a standard driver’s license to travel by plane.

Are you prepared to travel in 2021?

REAL ID will affect access to places controlled by the federal government
Airport security checkpoints
U.S. border crossings
Secure federal buildings (like military facilities)

You may already have what you need!

REAL ID is a law, not an actual piece of ID. Per the law, there are many pieces of existing identification options that will work including:

  • Permanent Resident Card (Green Card)
  • U.S. Military ID
  • U.S. Passport
  • U.S. Passport Card
  • Foreign Passport
  • Enhanced Driver License (EDL)
  • Enhanced Identification Card (EID)
  • Federally Recognized, Tribal-issued Photo ID
  • Border Crossing Card
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
Are you ready for REAL ID?
We’re here to help. Explore options for your situation.

Ways to travel with Standard Driver’s Licenses and ID Cards

Even though REAL ID goes into effect on Oct. 1, 2021, it only affects folks who want to travel by plane or access certain federal facilities. Your standard driver’s license or ID card will work for other U.S. travel like driving in Washington, across state lines, or riding a train. Standard driver’s licenses or ID cards are available without U.S. citizenship; however, as of July 1, 2018, these ID cards will feature a marking that they may not be accepted for federal purposes. Markings do not indicate citizenship or immigration status. In addition, you can still access federal facilities like courts, Social Security offices, national parks, and health care facilities with a standard driver’s license or ID.
Discover REAL ID Options
Here are some of the options that will work for air travel when REAL ID goes into effect on Oct. 1, 2021. Find the full list here.
Foreign Passport
Enhanced Driver's License (EDL)
U.S. Passport
Enhanced Identification Card (EID)
Permanent Resident Card (Green Card)
U.S. Military ID
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
Federally Recognized, Tribal-Issued Photo ID
U.S. Passport Card
Border Crossing Card

What is REAL ID?

Congress passed the REAL ID Act in 2005 to help combat terrorism and identity theft. The law set new requirements for identification that federal agencies may accept for domestic air travel and entrance to certain federal facilities. To comply, a state must create an ID that requires applicants to provide proof of identity and legal U.S. residency, as well as counterfeit-resistant security features. All states must comply with the law before it takes effect on Oct. 1, 2021. Discover the full list of accepted ID documents under REAL ID.

Helpful links

Department of Homeland Security For information on the REAL ID law   Washington Department of Licensing For information on enhanced and standard driver's licenses and ID cards   Transportation Security Administration For information on documents needed to fly